Compassionate & Holistic Care for Adults & Children

Dr. Debra Atkisson, M.D., P.A.

Dr. Atkisson has worked in administrative, consultation, and teaching capacities for a number of organizations in Tarrant County.  She works to improve mental health in Texas by serving as President-Elect of the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians.

She is also a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association. She has been included in “Texas Super Doctors”, in which doctors are voted upon by other physicians in Texas and listed in Texas Monthly magazine as well as “Top Docs” in which Tarrant County physicians vote for doctors who they see as excellent in their field.

Dr. Atkisson is board certified in General Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Dr. Debra Atkisson


American Medical Association
Texas Medical Association
Tarrant County Medical Society
American Psychiatric Association
Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians: Chair, Child and Adolescent
Committee and member Government Affairs Committee, 2001 – 2011;
APA Public Affairs Representative, 2006 – ongoing;
Secretary/Treasurer 2010 -2011; President-Elect 2011-2012; President 2012 – 2013
Tarrant County Chapter, Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians: President 2005;
President 2003; Vice President, 2002; Executive Committee 2002-2010
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Texas Society of Child and Adolescent Psychiatrists


Distinguished Fellow, American Psychiatric Association, 2008
Fellow, American Psychiatric Association, 2004
“Texas Super Doctor,” Texas Monthly magazine, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011
“Top Doc,” Fort Worth, Texas magazine, 2002-2004; 2006; 2009, 2010, 2011